Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg


Dr. Daniele Cantini

phone: +49 (0) 345 55 24077
fax: +49 (0) 345 55 27606

room E 01.1
Research Cluster
Society and Culture in Motion
Reichardtstraße 6
06114 Halle (Saale)

Further settings

Login for editors

Graduate School "Techniques of the Future-Making"


The Graduate School was initiated by the federal state of Saxony-Anhalt and took up its work in the summer of 2005. It is part of the ongoing consolidation process within the humanities and social sciences, as well as their incorporation in global networks.


The aim of the Graduate School is to encourage and foster innovative research at the Ph.D. and Postdoctoral level. This is achieved by emphasizing the enhancement of interdisciplinary cooperation between the participating academic disciplines. The Graduate School brings together expertise in various fields based on shared thematic foci and organizes a debate which transcends disciplinary and institutional boundaries. The Graduate School takes into consideration the increasing internationalization of scientific discourses and seeks to actively contribute to this process.


The Graduate School supports the interdisciplinary scientific training of graduates (both at the Ph.D. and Postdoctoral level) through a seminar program, workshops, and colloquia. The Graduate School awards scholarships according to funding. Its research program is designed for scholarship holders as well as other postgraduate students.

The GS SCM encourages excellent junior researchers from Germany and abroad, in particular from Asian and African countries, to apply for scholarships and to participate in its program.

The GS SCM supports faculty members of the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg in their efforts to attract both scholarships and external funding for research projects from institutions such as: the federal state of Saxony-Anhalt, the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft), the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), and the research programs of the European Union.